Handling grid and properties in separate EPC documents

Hi,

I am new to both ResQML and FESAPI and so I apologise in advance if this is a dumb question.

The data sets that I am trying to load have a grid representation in one .epc/h5 file pair and the properties in another .epc/h5 file pair.

I have successfully loaded the grid geometry, but I don’t know the best way to load the properties and attach them to the grid.

What would be the best way to achieve the above?

Regards,
Brian

Hi Brian and welcome in this forum!

Your question is not dumb at all.
What you are facing is known as “partial transfer” : one EPC contains a part of the whole, the other EPC contains another part of the whole.
Hopefully, if the writer did not do mistake, you should see in your properties (xml file) the UUID of the grid in the SupportingRepresentation xml tag. I will assume now that the writer did a good job.

Easy case:
If I have done/finished my job right (probably in master which is in development, maybe not in v1.2), you should be able to deserialize both your EPC documents into the same DataObjectRepository using FESAPI and the links should be automatically resolved thanks to UUID.
There is no unit test on that and few/no people use that for now. Since this is quite an advanced functionality, see that as at least a wish on how FESAPI should behave. You can consider a failure as a bug if it does not work and I will work on it when time permits.

Alternate case (should work in 1.2):
You can deserialize the grid in a DataObjetRepository and
You can deserialize the properties in another DataObjetRepository.
The properties will reference a “partial” grid representation in the second DataObjetRepository (getRepresentation() method). In FESAPI, a “partial” grid representation is simply a normal AbstractGridRepresentation which returns true to the method isPartial().