Example on how to save grid in resqml format

Hello,

My name is Arnaldo and I’m an undergrad student in SP.

I apologize for my stupid question but I could not understand how to organize the data. My task is to save a reservoir grid in a resqml file. My professor gave me a library that allows me to read simulations from imex and eclipse files. With the library I already loaded the nodes coordinates but I can not figure it out how to identify the faults, which nodes are the split nodes and so on…
I have read the resqml documentation and the exemple in the fesapi source. If someone could give some light I will be very greatful.

Again, sorry for the stupid question.

Best Regards,

Arnaldo Coelho

Oï Arnaldo,

There is no stupid question on this forum. Asking a question makes the forum living and that’s a great thing!

As a first step, I won’t look at identifying faults. Identifying split nodes (usually linked to some faults) is probably the first step.

Spit nodes are nodes which have different XYZ coordinates than another node at the same index (iNode, jNode, kNode). For example, look at the node at index 3,0 below : you can actually find two of them. On the other hand, there is only one node 2,0, one node 1,0 etc…
I cannot tell you how to identify them using the library of your professor but, at least, you know what they are.

Hi Phillippe,

Thank you so much for your quick response!
I will do that but I still have some doubts.
In the example only the first line of the split nodes are declared ( 2, 7, 12, 17 ). Is it not necessary include the other nodes? And if Is there another split node sequence?

example

In this case, If there were another node bellow 18 like 25 is bellow 17? How do I declare them?

Again, thank you very much for your help.
For me, using this library has been a very good experience and learning c ++ has been challenging.
I was able to compile the library without major problems. Just a few stumbles with miniziplib.

Best Regards,